How to Palpate a Rabbit

This has taken me so, SO long to find out how to do. I’m actually quite surprised I was successful at it. Maybe it’s because I followed the appropriate directions.   Here’s how you do it correctly. Pictures are ordered in the same way as the steps.

  • 1. Find out what rabbit you are going to be palpating.
  • 2. Pick her up and put her on the stand.
  • 3. Put her head in the middle of your bent arm, so she can’t see.
  • 4. Put your hand into a position that you can squeeze her lower abdomen and feel blobs in between your fingers.
  • 5. Feel around in there for squishy, grape sized blobs.  Squeeze your hand together and lift her abdomen up slightly, in between her back legs. The blobs will not be hard and prominent, just there enough for you to feel them. Don’t squeeze super hard, just to where you can feel the shape of stuff. DON’T squeeze until you can almost put your fingers together on both sides, if that makes sense.
  • 6. Pet her.
  • 7. Return her to her hutch/cage/living area.

Any questions/comments are of course welcome.
Attached Images

      

2 thoughts on “How to Palpate a Rabbit

  1. GraceAlice – OMG – your post is truly a lifesaver for me! I have a Boer goat doe I need to trim and was wondering how to go about it – your post has helped me tremendously! I was wondering how to go about it. Where did you get your great stand? I will probably just have someone hold her for now while I trim her feet. This darn wet weather is wreaking havoc on any critters with hooves! THANKS!!

    • Thanks!! I’m so glad it helped! Since your new to it, my best advice would be – Don’t go over board with trimming hooves. It doesn’t have to be perfect – just comfortable for the goat. 🙂

      We actually built that milk stand. I would post how to do it… but I forgot. I know that’s ridiculous, but I didn’t write down dimensions or anything! Sorry!

      Thanks again. 🙂

Leave a comment